Being a Feminist: Street Harassment

StopStreeHarassment.jpg

Being harassed on the street is pretty scary and also just really annoying.

It bothers me that the first thing that comes to my mind when a man touches me or follows me or shouts sexual things at me, is “oh, its because I chose to wear shorts today.” No. Its because some men are pigs, have no self control, and/or is seeking dominance. What I wear does not give someone the right to grab me, touch me, follow me, or shout sexual things at me.

There are people who truly believe that women are asking to be harassed, that we are just doing it for the attention. For example, I asked one male who is about 40 years old what he thought about street harassment. His response was, “don’t you think women perpetuate their harassment by being inappropriate or expressing their sexuality?”

I just sat their, jaw opened wide.

No one, absolutely no one, has the right to be harassed. I should not have to expect to be treated poorly while walking to and from my destination just because I am a woman. I don’t have to change my clothes or show less cleavage, they should work on their self control.

-By Ayanna Bates: Author, writer, blogger, motivational speaker from NY

Leave a Reply

